Tad Williams' Message Board

Hello, babies. Welcome to Earth. It's hot in the summer and cold in the winter. It's round and wet and crowded. At the outside, babies, you've got about a hundred years here. There's only one rule that I know of, babies -- 'God damn it, you've got to be kind.'
-    Kurt Vonnegut, 1922-2007

Welcome to the message board for tadwilliams.com. All comments are welcome, whether kudos or brickbats. However, please bear in mind that Tad would like this to be a friendly, civil message board, at least in the relations between users. We reserve the right to remove postings, or even ban postings, from anyone who crosses the boundary of reasonable taste. Basically, you can argue vigorously with someone, but watch your language, okay? We have a lot of young readers as well as grown-ups, so please show them some respect.

But the main requirement here is: have fun.


You are not logged in.

#476 2014-11-24 13:08:01

Sahi
Mantis
From: Assendelft (the Netherlands)
Registered: 2001-06-04
Posts: 44993
Website

Re: Chaven's tower

Yeah, it seems to be an android thing. Haven't found a solution yet.


"Because it is scientifically impossible to have enough books." - Patrick Rothfuss

Scrollbearer
First member of the Shadowmarch Council of Sages, Official Quiller's Mint Historian
You may call me the Porcupine Lady, or if you are feeling generous the Erinaceous One.

 

#477 2017-06-13 15:25:16

Kenan
Pilgrim
From: Gothenburg, Sweden
Registered: 2005-06-19
Posts: 8976
Website

Re: Chaven's tower

My pc crashed :( think it's the Main Bastard... was listening to music, suddenly the music stuck on a note... couldn't wake the screen so did a hard reset. Sounds like it boots, but no screen... open up the box, got a vga led glaring red. Disconnect. Got a boot device led glaring red. Disconnect, reconnect... can't get the screen to light up no matter what. Got a q code on the MB: 62, installing pch runtime.
It's 5 years old, so...
My files ought to be safe on secondary drives.


Wouldn't the plural form of Olaf be Olaves? ;) - Firsfron of Ronchester

 

#478 2017-06-13 15:38:35

Peter
Pilgrim
From: Austria
Registered: 2001-08-23
Posts: 39617
Website

Re: Chaven's tower

That sucks :/
Hard to diagnose much without having parts to swap around. It does sound like all your data should indeed be fine though.


"hitting the snooze button is totally an act of worship and not laziness"  -Magpie, slightly out of context

 

#479 2017-06-15 09:33:15

Kenan
Pilgrim
From: Gothenburg, Sweden
Registered: 2005-06-19
Posts: 8976
Website

Re: Chaven's tower

I managed to get my (it is 7 or 8) year old pc laptop started, so I'm surfing on that for now. It was a very sweet machine back in the days. 17 inch screen, blu-ray drive Battery is completely out, of course. Last time I used it seems to have been almost 3 years ago! We'll see how it handles tossing my 25MB raw photo files around... if I manage to install lightroom!
Anyways, I've talked about upgrading my desktop, so I guess it was about time. Just sucks that it crashed first.


Wouldn't the plural form of Olaf be Olaves? ;) - Firsfron of Ronchester

 

#480 2017-06-15 09:35:19

Kenan
Pilgrim
From: Gothenburg, Sweden
Registered: 2005-06-19
Posts: 8976
Website

Re: Chaven's tower

Searched through my email and found I ordered this laptop february 09!
HP Pavilion dv7-1195 - Core 2 Duo T9400 / 4GB / 640GB / 17" TFT / GF 9600M GT / Blu-Ray / VHP - [HV]


Wouldn't the plural form of Olaf be Olaves? ;) - Firsfron of Ronchester

 

#481 2017-06-15 10:05:44

Peter
Pilgrim
From: Austria
Registered: 2001-08-23
Posts: 39617
Website

Re: Chaven's tower

Glad you found something to surf on :)
I doubt it will be too happy running Lightroom though...


"hitting the snooze button is totally an act of worship and not laziness"  -Magpie, slightly out of context

 

#482 2017-06-15 12:04:17

Ad1tu
Pilgrim
From: Buffysadharc
Registered: 2004-02-22
Posts: 6455

Re: Chaven's tower

I'm envisioning a person trying to throw something really heavy, and it just falls back to the ground after only making it a foot or two...


If you should do what makes you happy, and no one can tell you what makes you happy, then that means no one can tell you what to do!

Tamishu's Ramblings

 

#483 2017-06-15 12:08:10

Kenan
Pilgrim
From: Gothenburg, Sweden
Registered: 2005-06-19
Posts: 8976
Website

Re: Chaven's tower

It runs! :D can't exactly call it fast, but it's workable :)


Wouldn't the plural form of Olaf be Olaves? ;) - Firsfron of Ronchester

 

#484 2017-06-15 12:09:21

Peter
Pilgrim
From: Austria
Registered: 2001-08-23
Posts: 39617
Website

Re: Chaven's tower

If you want advice on upgrades, I'm always happy to help.


"hitting the snooze button is totally an act of worship and not laziness"  -Magpie, slightly out of context

 

#485 2017-06-15 12:09:58

Peter
Pilgrim
From: Austria
Registered: 2001-08-23
Posts: 39617
Website

Re: Chaven's tower

Kenan wrote:

It runs! :D can't exactly call it fast, but it's workable :)

I'm sure it's usable for a picture or two. Doubt you'd want to edit a 100 pictures after a trip :D


"hitting the snooze button is totally an act of worship and not laziness"  -Magpie, slightly out of context

 

#486 2017-06-15 12:34:43

Kenan
Pilgrim
From: Gothenburg, Sweden
Registered: 2005-06-19
Posts: 8976
Website

Re: Chaven's tower

Thanks for the offer Peter! My dad (65 this year) is an experienced computer builder, and he put together my last 4-5 pcs or so, so I've asked him to compile a list of specs for me. I'm going to reuse the psu and hard drive from my current one, along with my disc player which I mostly use for cds anyway.

Looks like it's going to be an intel core i7-7700k, 16gb ddr4 3000MHz ram, asus rog geforce gtx 1060 strix 6gb, and I'm not sure about the MB because he said he listed the wrong one.


Wouldn't the plural form of Olaf be Olaves? ;) - Firsfron of Ronchester

 

#487 2017-06-15 12:35:42

Kenan
Pilgrim
From: Gothenburg, Sweden
Registered: 2005-06-19
Posts: 8976
Website

Re: Chaven's tower

Peter wrote:

Kenan wrote:

It runs! :D can't exactly call it fast, but it's workable :)

I'm sure it's usable for a picture or two. Doubt you'd want to edit a 100 pictures after a trip :D

I have more than that to edit from the 9th graders' graduation party last night! But I'll not do everything in one go anyway. A few here and there while I do other things...


Wouldn't the plural form of Olaf be Olaves? ;) - Firsfron of Ronchester

 

#488 2017-06-15 14:39:52

Peter
Pilgrim
From: Austria
Registered: 2001-08-23
Posts: 39617
Website

Re: Chaven's tower

Sounds pretty ideal for games and everything there is a fairly safe bet. I am not sure if Lightroom benefits from more CPU cores, in that case the Ryzen CPUs would be worth a look, but they won't quite keep up in games.


"hitting the snooze button is totally an act of worship and not laziness"  -Magpie, slightly out of context

 

#489 2017-06-16 02:05:31

Kenan
Pilgrim
From: Gothenburg, Sweden
Registered: 2005-06-19
Posts: 8976
Website

Re: Chaven's tower

If I get you right you mean that if Lightroom benefits from more cores I should check out Ryzen?
I'll look into it, thanks for the tip :)


Wouldn't the plural form of Olaf be Olaves? ;) - Firsfron of Ronchester

 

#490 2017-06-16 05:02:46

Peter
Pilgrim
From: Austria
Registered: 2001-08-23
Posts: 39617
Website

Re: Chaven's tower

Yes. I do know Lightroom can make use of several cores, but I do not know how many it can utilize well. The Ryzen 1700X is pretty close to the 7700K in cost and has twice the cores (but slightly lower clocks and IPC). In games and other apps that max out at 4 cores, the 7700K wins, though the Ryzen is still plenty fast. In apps that scale perfectly (such as 3D rendering), the 1700X wins handily.

The Ryzen 1600 is also very nice. Lower power than the 1600X and up and very affordable, yet still about as fast as the 7700K in heavily threaded apps.

The Intel plattform is definitely more mature, though I think most of the issues have been ironed out with Ryzen by now. If your computer hadn't broken right now, I'd recommend waiting for Coffee Lake, which should appear in August AFAIK (affordable 6 core chips from Intel).


"hitting the snooze button is totally an act of worship and not laziness"  -Magpie, slightly out of context

 

#491 2017-06-16 08:37:04

Kenan
Pilgrim
From: Gothenburg, Sweden
Registered: 2005-06-19
Posts: 8976
Website

Re: Chaven's tower

Sounds like closer to what I need. I googled it and it seems that photoshop can use as many processes as is available, for instance when applying filters, which I do work with.

Stability is of course also a factor.


Wouldn't the plural form of Olaf be Olaves? ;) - Firsfron of Ronchester

 

#492 2017-06-17 05:26:48

Peter
Pilgrim
From: Austria
Registered: 2001-08-23
Posts: 39617
Website

Re: Chaven's tower

There aren't a lot of Lightroom Benchmarks out there, but apparently it is rather poorly threaded. Only the JPEG export scales reasonably well beyond 4 cores, so the 7700K is in fact the best CPU you can get.

https://www.pugetsystems.com/labs/artic … mance-910/

Photoshop seems to be the same (which is amazing, many of these filters should be very easy to thread).


"hitting the snooze button is totally an act of worship and not laziness"  -Magpie, slightly out of context

 

#493 2017-06-17 13:58:02

Kenan
Pilgrim
From: Gothenburg, Sweden
Registered: 2005-06-19
Posts: 8976
Website

Re: Chaven's tower

Bit of an update on what's actually wrong with my old pc.

I removed the bios battery and reset the cmos, after that I actually got it to light up my screen. So I passed the bios, but I can't get it to boot windows (but it starts to, windows logo and "please wait" for 20 seconds). Sometimes I just get a black screen, it never gets to the log in screen. Sometimes it gives me a blue screen with Recovery options.
I tried to repair, but it doesn't work. It starts and then quickly reboots and gives me a black screen. I think it's every other time black screen/recovery options.
I tried resetting the windows installation but it was also unsuccessful.
Meanwhilst I have some green lines on my screen when the screen is black and working, like when it's booting or showing the windows logo, but not when it is blue.


Wouldn't the plural form of Olaf be Olaves? ;) - Firsfron of Ronchester

 

#494 2017-06-17 14:13:24

Peter
Pilgrim
From: Austria
Registered: 2001-08-23
Posts: 39617
Website

Re: Chaven's tower

You can rule out windows installation and hard disk problems by booting from a DVD or USB stick (a live linux, or even the windows installer).

Can't figure out what's wrong with those lines on the screen. I don't see how it could be anything but the video card (cable or screen are unlikely, because they would not have caused problems with the rest of the PC). The pattern doesn't make much sense (green + blue would be cyan, so I don't know why it would not show on a blue screen (unless that screen is in a totally different video mode)).

If you have some old video card lying around that still fits, I'd try using that next (after booting from a CD).


"hitting the snooze button is totally an act of worship and not laziness"  -Magpie, slightly out of context

 

#495 2017-06-17 14:18:21

Kenan
Pilgrim
From: Gothenburg, Sweden
Registered: 2005-06-19
Posts: 8976
Website

Re: Chaven's tower

I'm going to try and find an old hard drive and see if I can install windows on it.
But maybe tomorrow.
Green lines is usually graphics card... so I was going to buy a new one and try that. But I heard my bios won't be able to handle it, so scratch that. No old card lying around unfortunately.


Wouldn't the plural form of Olaf be Olaves? ;) - Firsfron of Ronchester

 

#496 2017-06-17 15:01:28

Peter
Pilgrim
From: Austria
Registered: 2001-08-23
Posts: 39617
Website

Re: Chaven's tower

Usually video cards work on very old computers, as long as they fit. Your computer was 5 years, so probably Ivy Bridge? I am pretty sure a 1060 should work with that.


"hitting the snooze button is totally an act of worship and not laziness"  -Magpie, slightly out of context

 

#497 2017-06-17 15:03:48

Peter
Pilgrim
From: Austria
Registered: 2001-08-23
Posts: 39617
Website

Re: Chaven's tower

Another idea: If this is indeed Ivy Bridge or newer, you should be able to use integrated graphics (on Sandy Bridge that was not enabled on the enthusiast chipset), if it has the right connection for your monitor.


"hitting the snooze button is totally an act of worship and not laziness"  -Magpie, slightly out of context

 

#498 2017-06-17 15:35:28

Kenan
Pilgrim
From: Gothenburg, Sweden
Registered: 2005-06-19
Posts: 8976
Website

Re: Chaven's tower

Sandy bridge... Well, someone else who seemed to know what they were talking about said the bios would have problems with it.

No integrated graphics on this card! :(


Wouldn't the plural form of Olaf be Olaves? ;) - Firsfron of Ronchester

 

#499 2017-06-17 21:10:25

Peter
Pilgrim
From: Austria
Registered: 2001-08-23
Posts: 39617
Website

Re: Chaven's tower

I did run a 970 on Sandy Bridge and a friend is running a 1060 on Sandy Bridge. It's not impossible your specific motherboard would have issues, but in general it's not an issue. And yeah, no integrated graphics on high end sandy bridge mainboards.


"hitting the snooze button is totally an act of worship and not laziness"  -Magpie, slightly out of context

 

#500 2017-06-18 06:30:21

Kenan
Pilgrim
From: Gothenburg, Sweden
Registered: 2005-06-19
Posts: 8976
Website

Re: Chaven's tower

Well, I installed windows 7 on an old hard drive and it worked (but with the green lines) until I installed drivers from nvidia, then it crashed in the windows start up. So my dad has a gfx card which is exactly the same as I'm using which he's sending to me to try. I'll still be upgrading my computer even if it works, but I can wait for coffee lake then :)


Wouldn't the plural form of Olaf be Olaves? ;) - Firsfron of Ronchester

 

Board footer

Powered by PunBB